Villages of Weymouth

There are four different villages (or districts) in Weymouth, which roughly mirror the geographical boundaries of the four zip codes assigned to the town. Each village also has a village center which had traditionally served as the focal point of each community.


North Weymouth
Zip code: 02191
Village center: Bicknell Square [more info]


Weymouth Landing
Zip code: 02188
Village center: The Landing [more info]


East Weymouth
Zip code: 02189
Village center: Jackson Square [more info]


South Weymouth
Zip code: 02190
Village center: Columbian Square [more info]



Historical information on Weymouth Landing:

There were several boundary disputes over different areas of the Landing. This boundary issue started in the early 1800s and lasted nearly until 1900. It also caused some issues with overlapping responsibilities of the census takers, which is why you may see two different addresses in the census records of that era.

The Union Church was at the top of Weymouth Landing, and the boundary line between Weymouth and Braintree used to run directly through the church. This church kept many records of Weymouth Landing residents. The Union Church burned down in 1897 and was rebuilt a little further up which means it is now completely in Braintree.

Weymouth and Braintree were originally part of Suffolk County. Both towns later joined Norfolk County.